Mentor Awards

The mentor awards are a way to recognize graduate students, post-docs, academic staff and faculty who have had a profound impact on graduate students in the chemistry department. Graduate student mentors can loosely be identified as any member of the chemistry community who has dedicated time to the development, growth, and/or counsel during a student's career. Up to three awards are given each year, dependent on the number of nominations submitted.

How to nominate a mentor:

  1. Write a nomination letter that explains why the mentor should receive this award. Try to include specific examples that detail the individual's level of involvement and influence.
  2. Obtain a letter of support from a colleague in chemistry. This is optional, but highly recommended. The letter can be from a graduate student, post-doc, academic staff, or faculty and should attest to the mentor's character.

Nominations will be judged with the following criteria in mind:

  • Involvement of mentor in personal/academic growth.
  • Effect mentor has had on personal/academic growth.
  • Traits that define them as an effective mentor.


Nominations are due in April each year with awards given in May at the Chemistry Department Award Ceremony. More information and specific deadlines will be announced in the spring.

Past winners

Congratulations to the following winners of each year for receiving the GSFLC Mentor awards! 

2018 Helen E. Blackwell, Matthew R. Dent, Alyssa M. Love

2017 Stephanie Dillon, Kellen DeLaney, Dan Kohler

2016 Judith Burstyn, Amanda Buchberger, Kevin Heylman

2015 Dr. Carlos Carrero Marquez (Hermans), Erin Gemperline (Li), Alison Wendlandt (Stahl)

2014 Leigh Abrams, Beth Blasi, Cornelia Heid